You’ll be automatically logged into Chrome when you log into your Google account

96
Google Chrome

Google Chrome 69 comes with the much-needed UI improvements but
there is a feature that you may not like. The latest version of
Google’s popular web browser signs you into the browser
automatically when you log into your Google account or any
Google service such as Gmail.

As pointed out by a researcher, in Google Chrome 69, you’ll be
automatically signed into the browser when you log into your
Google service. The sync feature is however disabled and your
data won’t be uploaded, according to Google.

“Think of it as adding “yo FYI you’re currently logged in to
Gmail” in the corner of the browser window. That’s what the
feature does. It’s different from the feature you seem to be
talking about which we call sync, that has privacy
implications,” a Google employee writes in a tweet.

Google employees have explained that the privacy of the users
is still respected and the data is not uploaded without their
consent. In previous versions of Chrome, you could visit
any Google service and log into them but the browser Chrome was
never linked to the Google account.

Chrome menu

According to Google employees, the feature is not supposed to
disrespect the users’ privacy and it was designed to help users
avoid complications when your friend or family member is logged
into the browser with their own Google account.

People working at Google have apparently explained that the
feature is not a big deal for your privacy but if you don’t
like the ‘feature’, then you can disable it from flags menu.

  • Open Chrome browser, access the flags menu.

Chrome flags menu

  • Search for “Identity consistency between browser and cookie
    jar” and disable it.

In a series of tweets, Google’s engineer and manager for Chrome
has explained the feature won’t sync the data.

“In the new version of Chrome: when you sign in or out of a
Google website, Chrome UI shows your sign-in status in the top
right corner. My teammates made this change to prevent
surprises in a shared device scenario. In the past, people
would sometimes sign out of the content area and think that
meant they were no longer signed into Chrome, which could cause
problems on a shared device.

“The new UI clearly reminds you whenever you’re logged in to a
Google account. Plus, you now only need to sign out in one
place before you share your computer with someone else. If you
want to turn on Sync, it’s an additional step after you’re
signed in. Sync uploads your browsing history to Google so you
can access it across devices. Sign-in by itself does NOT do
that,” the tweets read.

“On desktop versions of Chrome, signing into or out of any
Google web service (e.g. google.com) signs you into or out of
Chrome. Sync is only enabled if you choose,” the Google Chrome
privacy policy page reads.



i am as a writer and blogger...


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *